First attempt at a recipe, assistance/feedback appreciated.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hoppy_kilroy

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a somewhat original recipe. I pulled bits and pieces from other recipes then messed with it in Brewtarget until it looked ok to me. I'm not sure about the hops though.

Kilroy's Honey Rye Ale
Batch Size 5 gal
OG 1.058
FG 1.014
ABV 5.8%
Color 15.8 srm
Calories (per 12 oz.) 193

Fermentables
Total grain: 9.850 lb

Muntons LME - Amber Extract 6.600 lb
Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L Grain 1.750 lb
Rye Malt Grain 1.000 lb
Honey Extract 8.000 oz

Hops (pellets)

To be determined. This is where I need the most help I think.

Yeast
WLP060 - American Ale Yeast Blend Ale

I am making something similar with citra and cascade hops. Have you thought about using honey malt instead of extract.

I suggest using light or extra light DME or LME, and not "amber", as it's got crystal malt in it already so you're doubling (or maybe more) up on the crystal malt.

Use no more than about 15% crystal malt, total. You've got way too much, with nearly two pounds in the recipe plus whatever is in the extract. 1 pound is ok, and I'd mix it up a bit- use .75 pound of 40L and .25 pound of 80L. Or .25 pound of 120L, as an example. That gives a depth of flavor without too much cloying sweetness.

What's "honey extract"? Just honey? Or something else? I've never heard of "honey extract".

I am making something similar with citra and cascade hops. Have you thought about using honey malt instead of extract.

Well I wasn't going to use honey extract. The software just classifies honey as extract for some reason.