Question About Mead

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

azazel

Reaction score
Howdy, i'm new to making mead and i'm well into my first batch. Along the way i've made a few errors, notably putting the yeast in when the honey was too hot, and storing the bucket in a cool area, 55 degrees, for a few days at the start.

Currently i'm 5 months into the process and i'm getting bubbles about 2 minutes apart. the alcohol content of my mead is 5%(i think that's low) the honey to water ratio was 15 lbs of honey to 3 gallons of water.

Sooooo my question is, did i kill the yeast with those two errors at the start? If i did is it affecting my alcohol output? Should i put more yeast in? If i killed a majority of the yeast will it just take longer to get my alcohol up there? How can i make the alcohol content go up?

Thanks, hope to get an answer soon

5 months in? Fermentation should have been well done and the mead cleared by now.

Was your additional recipe:

15lb honey
Water to 3 gallons
Yeast

And thats it?

If so one of two things happened. Your starting temp was too high and the yeast died but since you have some alcohol content then I think this second option may be the issue. Lack of nutrients and stressed yeast.

Honey is naturally acidic. Honey also has very little trace and essential nutrients. So yeast may just starve out in a improperly prepared must.

Also 15lb honey in 3 gallons total volume gives you a gravity of about 1.18 which can possibly get to 22% ABV.

You need to pitch new yeast with a proper starter.

If you can get brewing yeast nutrient and energizer then ill give you instruction to do this with that. If not then ill give a secondary option.