Patience is tough.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MisterClean

Reaction score
So my ale has been sitting in the primary for a week now. I took a gravity reading today, and it's down from 1.081 to 1.018. And the sample tastes fantastic. I mean, so good I can't believe I made this. I was a little worried after hearing some people report peach esters with fermenting US-05 at the lower end, but I couldn't detect any.

I'm not very good at describing tastes very well yet, but here goes anyway:The sample had a good strong hops aroma, and a strong but laid back bitterness at the front, followed by a good malty backbone. The finish was slightly citrus sweet that was cut a little by a slight hint of alcohol dryness.

I fermented around 58-60F. The yeast took off after 12 hours. High krausen was reached around the 2 day mark, and fell off somewhere around the 4 day mark. I have been slowly raising the temp a few degrees each day since the krausen fell, and It's currently at 67F where it will stay while the yeast clean up some more.

According to the calculator I used, .81 to .018 is about 78% apparent attenuation, which, with US-05, should be finished or very nearly so. I figure I'll leave it on the yeast another week, then cold crash it and keg it. It's going to be tough considering how tasty this beer is already.

Only thing I regret not doing is adding whirlfloc or some other finings during the boil. It's still very cloudy. Hopefully the cold crash will take care of some of that. I could always try gelatin, but I've never used it before and I'm not really sure what to expect.