My first all grain!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Randomnoob

Reaction score
Tomorrow I'm making my first all grain brew. The recipe calls for 13 qt of water at 152 for the mash. For the mash out I will add 2 gallons of water at 200 degrees to get it up to 170 F. After ten minutes I will vorlauf it and then proceed to let it in to the brew kettle while fly sparging with the sparge water at 170 degrees. Then I do the hour long boil, add my hops and all that stuff. Let me know if I got anything wrong here or anything I need to be made aware of.

Here is what I'm making, which I thought was highly appropriate since I'm a dairy farmer... http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/speckled-heifer-all-grain-kit.html

Congrats! Go for it

If it's your first time, there's going to be unexpected problems unless you make sure EVERYTHING is planned out ahead and executed with precision. Don't worry though - it will be a fun and educational experience.

You will want to make sure you preheat your mashtun and also calculate the temperature loss when adding your grains. For example if your want your mash water at 152 and you add 65 degree grain to it the temp is going to drop below your target of 152. I use Beersmith to calculate all of that for me. Here is a free calculator that can help you if you need it. http://www.rackers.org/calcs.shtml.

Also for beginners I find it easier to batch sparge than fly sparge. Just a suggestion. It's a little less efficient but it is a lot easier. Here is some info on batch sparging. http://hbd.org/cascade/dennybrew/

All grain is a great adventure! Good luck!