cloning or creating a beer from scratch...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

inda_bebe

Reaction score
ive been brewing beer from extract to all-grain for about 3 years now. im nothing thinking about stepping it up to creating or cloning a recipe from scratch. my favorite styles are lambics, saisons, pale ales and wilds. when i had a bottle of Anna from HF, i decided that i need to try and make this beer or similar.

The thing is, i dont even know where to start. i know its a saison, but how do i create a base recipe for this? all i know is that im going to culture and harvest the yeast and use that as the primary fermentation yeast and hope that gives me the flavors im looking for.

anyone care to share some tips?

I used to follow recipes but have recently gone away from them. I build my own trying to stick to the style. It requires some research, reading and drinking beers of that style. I am pretty much only making Vienna Lagers right now and plan on keeping that style up (European amber lager) till I perfect it. (I really like the way they taste lol)

Making a clone of a certain brand of beer is a different story and think its pretty hard for the home brewer to completely clone certain beer due to yeast strains. Aside from getting the exact strain from the brewery it's a shot in the dark.

Although not impossible i would say it's a bit more difficult than brewing to a style of beer.

website only says they use 20% raw wildflower honey. maybe base recipe for saison dupont to start with? something like 9.5# pilsner malt, ~2# wildflower honey, 4oz caramunich, and 8oz flaked wheat?