Poor mans all grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SCBrewster

Reaction score
Ok so I'm new to brewing but have done 3 or 4 batches. I want to move to all grain but am looking for the most cost efficient way to do it (and space since I live in an apartment) ok so I have 7.5 gallon pot and a 3 gallon pot. Also have an igloo square cooler maybe 10 gallons? Not sure.So I also have heard of brew in a bag method. Let's say I buy a big paint strainer bag to put the grains in. Put that in the cooler and add however much water I need to. Let is sit then drain the water into 7.5 gallon pot then sparge with water from the 3 gallon... Would this work?

I do all-grain with 3 vessels, but brew in a bag (BIAB) is definitely a cheaper and more space efficient route. Your method sounds like it could work, but you really don't even need the cooler. You can mash and boil in the same pot with the strainer bag.

I wasnt sure if all the grain and water would be able to fit in the 7.5 gallon pot or not. Previous posts said that I could do like 3 gals of water with the grain the pull that out and sparge with the remaining water I needed for the boil but I was thinking this way would make more sense but I could be wrong. Being new I don't quite understand how much grain absorption happens during the mash and how much sparge water I would need

SCBrewster said: