window AC vs central air

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CliffMongoloid

Reaction score
My apartment has central air which is pretty awesome but we really only use it at night in our bedroom which is upstairs

We still occasionally use it when we are down stairs but the majority of the time it is used when we are sleeping.... 7 plus hours

Now my apartment is not climate controlled and it gets stupid hot in the bedroom without the AC on.... So avoiding AC for us is toigh...The electric bill gets quite pricy in the summer

So my question is having a window unit in the bedroom for when we are sleeping help out with the electric bill?

I figured yes because it is only chilling one room except the whole place... But I'm not an expert.... And would the decrease be worth the AC expense which is 120 from home depot

We run an AC 24/7 in our bedroom from mid- to late June through to as late as September (Northern Maine)... neither of us can sleep when the temp is much above 60.

No real noticeable difference in the electric bill.

Of course, we use electric heaters during the winter to "take the edge off" since electricity is a lot cheaper than heating fuel.

Base that on the size of your bedroom and what the AC packaging recommends. We've been running an older 5k BTU in our room the past number of years.. I happened to stumble across a newer 5500 BTU unit about a month ago, so we'll be "upgrading"... hopefully lower electricity costs (even if it's only slightly) and more cold for our buck.

Oh, and I now have an AC for my ferment chamber. ;-)

My dual heat pumps have a hard time maintaining 80F in the house when it gets to above 100F in SC. :eek:

MC