Riddle me this: grain storage

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ridire

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This may sound stupid to those of you who buy grain in bulk, but how long can you store grain (not crushed) before it gets stale? I am not talking about having air tight seals, etc. I am talking about just keeping it in a cool dry place, in the plastic bag from the LHBS. Up until now, I have always brewed within 48 hours of purchasing the grain. I am thinking of buying grain today but if things do not go as planned, it could be a few weeks before I can brew. Am I ok even if I do not have good bins to store it in?

I'm no expert, but I assume as long as you are storing it properly (dry, dark, cool) there shouldnt be any issues.

I'm brewing today with grain from a sack I bought in 2011. I dont notice any flavor loss, but I'm betting someone will disagree.

I've stored them in their sealed bags in the fridge for a month with no degredation. The smaller amounts in those tall skinny zip lock bags go into a zip lock freezer bag for added protection. works fine for me.

I've stored them in their sealed bags in the fridge for a month with no degredation. The smaller amounts in those tall skinny zip lock bags go into a zip lock freezer bag for added protection. works fine for me.

So, if I don't get to it this weekend, you would suggest putting the grains in the fridge until I have a chance to brew? I was just going to find a clean corner of the basement for them.

I am sure I'm worrying about nothing. If people are keeping grains for months then I should be fine...I'm talking maybe a few weeks.