Critique my extract recipes!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bcmeyer

Reaction score
So a year ago yesterday I brewed my first beer. Pretty exciting! But since then, the hobby has taken hold of me. I've brewed 11 extract batches, and learned so much about the process.

Now I'm a teacher and summer break is coming up, so I'm planning a pretty big brew week for my first week off of summer. I'm planning on brewing three beers. One fruit beer recipe off this forum so I can experience making a fruit beer. The other two are my first two recipes. I think after this I will slowly start moving into all grain brewing once equipment and space allows. But anyways, I wanted to post my recipes here and see what you guys think. This was my first time working with BeerSmith 2. It was very easy to put a recipe together, and I'll definitely be checking out the other features soon.

Brown Ale
This one was a request from a friend, but I do enjoy a good brown ale as well! I stayed with in the style guidelines for both these brews. With this one let me know what you think about the specialty grains and hops (and hop timings). Also I didn't know if I should use amber extracts or just stick with light extracts.

Style: Northern English Brown Ale
TYPE: Extract
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal
Estimated OG: 1.048 SG
Estimated Color: 20.8 SRM
Estimated IBU: 22.6 IBUs
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type %/IBU
3.3 lbs Amber Liquid Extract (1 Extract 41.0 %
2.5 lbs Amber Dry Extract (12.5 Dry Extract 31.1 %
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) Grain 12.4 %
8.0 oz Biscuit Malt (23.0 SRM) Grain 6.2 %
8.0 oz Special Roast (50.0 SRM) Grain 6.2 %
4.0 oz Chocolate Malt (350.0 SRM) Grain 3.1 %

1.00 oz Fuggles [4.50 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 11.3 IBUs