Simplified HERMS + Chilling system

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PopNLochNessMonsta

Reaction score
By day I'm a heat transfer/fluid engineer who works with all kinds of heat exchange, control, and piping systems. About 5 months ago I made the move to electric brewing, and for a while I've been toying with building a HERMS system for a challenge.

Anyway, I've always looked at the HERMS diagrams and wondered if they could be simplified, especially because my brewing space (large apartment bathroom) is a bit space-limited to have 3 big vessels sitting there all the time. So I sat down for a while today and I think I've come up with a significantly simplified (and probably cheaper?) full brew system design. Here's the diagram!

I forgot to add a legend to the pic. The circles with X's in them are all valves. The ones with 2 connections are just ball valves, the ones with 3 connections are 3-way diverter valves. The "TC" in the mash tun is a thermocouple.

Features/advantages:
  • Only two vessels (mash tun and a combined HLT/BK)
  • Only one heat exchanger for both heating the mash and wort chilling (I use a counterflow HX)
  • Never have to move a pot, hose, or heat exchanger. Everything from grain to fermenter can be done with valves and switches. Manipulating the valves will allow you to: (1) pump hot water to the mash tun, (2) recirc wort and hot water through the HX, (3) drain hot water from the HLT/BK, (4) pump wort to the HLT/BK for the boil, (5) chill wort and send it to the fermenter, and (6) flush all the lines with boiling water to clean them.
  • Only one PID controller (two if you want to control the HLT temp)