Sludge and extra flavor

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdtwnj

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to brewing. The intro video from Northern Brewer says to leave any sludge in the bottom of the brew pot when pouring into the fermenter. However, after a few batches, I feel my beers are lacking some flavor. Should I really leave the sludge out of the fermenter? Wouldn't that help my flavor problem?

That sludge on the bottom of the brew pot is used up hops and some protein. It won't affect your beer either way, no flavors left in it to get out. I dump it all into the fermenter. What kind of beers have you made? Extract kits? What varieties.

There are way to increase or decrease most of what you perceive in beer. One of the easiest ways is to let them have time in the bottle. Just because you bottle them doesn't mean that everything just stops. If that isn't the answer, you can add hops for the aroma, different malts to increase body and flavor.

I prefer clear beer. I leave as much of that junk behind as possible. My beers still have plenty of flavor.

You get flavor from your base malts (or extracts), steeping/specialty grains, hop additions, yeast selection and fermentation practices. You do not gain it from the crapola left in the bottom of your brew kettle.

It's a matter of personal preference. I dump everything but the hops into my primary and get very clear beer and the sludge does not have an effect on flavor.

Here are my observations on flavor, evolving from extract to mini-mash to AG over the years: