Brewed my first batch yesterday in two years. I definitely forgotten a few things.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macdadmorgan

Reaction score
Well after a little over a two year hiatus, I am back brewing. It feels better then ever. When I started brewing 3.5 years ago I did a few partial mash brews, then jumped in balls deep, built a rig, and never looked back.
IMG_1383.jpg

I then had a job that I had to do for a friend that forced me to travel for a few months, then I got rotator cuff surgery, then a baby... So life got in the way of brewing. So yesterday I tried to pick up where I had left off. I bought the dead ringer kit from Northern Brewer for ease of a kit, made a starter two days before, cleaned and sanitized the rig, then went to town. I struck my grains at what temp I remember being good, and ended up hitting the 152* sacch' rest temp. I only had to run two heat cycles to keep it with in a few degrees. Brought it up to 170* for the mash out, and was only able to run off a little over 6 gallons of wort. I forgot how much water the grains soak up.
8BB1BE64-D5E1-4D0A-8326-29E183E9D2DA-1801-00000519C4B76810.jpg

My PVC hop spider decided to get soft and fall lower and lower into the boil kettle. I was pretty much committed. I was able to rig it safely with some ss tig welding rod, gonna have to explore a new option for that.
D177D0F8-5CB8-48B9-ACE9-C0A1C708A649-1801-00000519ACBDA954.jpg

Coming to the end of the boil I added my Irish moss, and really forgot its purpose, so with fears of gumming up the chiller I put it in the hop sock. I can research it before my next batch, but... I also added some yeast nutrients. Killed the boil and chilled it, I forgot how efficient these chillers are.