Crazy old Cider - Good to Drink?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrownBottle

Reaction score
Hey Guys - So on Semptember 14th I started brewing some cider. A couple months later I moved to the bottling bucket...and there it stayed.

Fast forward to now...7 months after I began the process. Is there any chance that the cider is still good? Could it be dangerous?

Thanks!
-Matt

Was the bucket sealed / airlocked?

If so, I'd suspect it would be fine. Have you tasted it?

Yes sir. It was sealed and I have an air lock. When I pour into a glass the airlock bubbles so I know it's working correctly.

I haven't tasted it yet. I've been too scared lol. Do you think a little sip will be fine? Is there anything I should look for or anything that could be hazardous to my health? This is/was my first brew.

Do you know what the alcohol content is?

I have no idea about danger to health. However, a fully fermented cider at 5% or so ABV should be good for a few months at room temp (some people age cider in secondary fermenters for a month or so). If it were me I would taste it and spit it out if it has a foul taste or aroma, but that's me, maybe someone with actual knowledge of what might be living in there could say whether this is a good idea or not...

Do you know what the alcohol content is?

I have no idea about danger to health. However, a fully fermented cider at 5% or so ABV should be good for a few months at room temp (some people age cider in secondary fermenters for a month or so). If it were me I would taste it and spit it out if it has a foul taste or aroma, but that's me, maybe someone with actual knowledge of what might be living in there could say whether this is a good idea or not...