Gravity Issue

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwagner

Reaction score
I am just getting into home brewing and I brewed a batch 2 weeks I ago on Sunday, 4/22. My OG reading was 1.040 on brew day. I waited 5 days and took a second batch of gravity readings and came up with 1.032 for 3 straight days. however, the foam layer was still fairly noticeable and I still had some intermittent CO2 bubbling going on, about every 1-2 minutes. I was told by a brewer friend that I should continue to wait until the foam layer broke down before getting ready to bottle.
The foam layer has since broken down and I took a gravity reading yesterday, 5/3, and my gravity now is at 1.029. I am thinking that my OG reading may have been off. I may not have had enough brew in the hydrometer cylinder and got a low reading because I can't figure out why there isn't a wider margin between the OG and subsequent gravity readings. However, after tasting the beer from the cylinder it tastes as though it has a relatively high alcohol content.

Any thoughts and how much longer should I wait before bottling?

Here is the recipe and type of beer.

Recipe for Amber Ale:

8lbs Light Malt Extract (OG not known)
1.25 lbs Crystal malt 120L
8oz munich malt
4oz chocolate malt
2oz columbus hops
Wyeast 1028 London Ale yeast - 1 package
2tsp gypsum
1 tsp irish moss

Pitched wyeast into starter of 1/4 cup DME and 1 cup water day before brew day.

Let me plug it into BS2. hold on. What was the Munich malt? Caramunich,or munich 10 or 20L? I also need the formal name of the yeast for BS2,7 when the hops were added.

briess munich malt 10L. I'm thinking about setting up another starter and repitching the yeast tomorrow.