Botched bottling. Looking for insight

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sjcoon

Reaction score
Hi
So I started brewing kombucha recently. I made a gallon, and bottled the majority of it in 22oz bottles and corked them. I made sure each bottle was thoroughly sanitized with boiling water and when filling the bottles I made sure to add a small amount of culture as well. Two of the bottles carbonated greatly, while the third was nearly flat when I opened it.
Does anyone have any insight as to why this may happen?
Thanks
Steve

I've never heard of adding the culture to the bottle. I thought it would continue to ferment on it's own. But I'm having the same issue with my bottled booch. I've heard that leaving it for 4 days should be enough time but it had never been that way for me. I accidentally left one bottle second ferment for 6 days and it finally it bubbled. How long are you letting them sit for a second ferment. I live in PA and it's not warm here, so I think I need a long second ferment.

I haven't heard of adding culture to the 2nd fermentation container either. What will help is adding 1/2 teaspoon of sugar to each bottle (or add fruit) as extra food for the yeast to consume and make c02.
Also you shouldn't expect a carbonation similar to a c02 injection like they do for soda with large bubbles that will burn the back of your throat or anything. A natural carbonation will have very small/fine bubbles and its a lot more subtle.

+1 hombrewthatstuff