oh no! I oxidized!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lombahdo1986

Reaction score
So I'm new to this brewing thing, and I am already obsessed with reading tips and the great stuff you people have already put on this website. I have my first brew in the 2nd carboy now (I wanted to learn how to use 2 carboys right away, and not learn after 4-5 brews). However, I never talked to the owner of the home brew store (or read on the internet yet) about the dangers of oxidizing your beer when transferring the fermented beer from the fermentation bucket to carboy 2... I know... Huge newbie move.

So it was pretty bad reflecting on it.... the damn auto siphon I was using broke after about 3 pumps on putting into the carboy. I did know it was important to keep the beer in a sealed container, so I assumed speed was more important than stopping and buying another auto siphon in the middle of this process. I thought it was a great idea to just pour the fermented beer into the 2nd carboy through a funnel. And to compound the problem, once I was done I lifted the filled carboy and walked it (sloshing all over the place) to my mini brew area. And for some reason (I guess I wanted to see bubbles for some reason... like a little kid) I shook the carboy a few hours after this all happened again!

So today I was surfing the web and getting tips, and I came upon how stupid that all was. I see mixed opinions about how bad oxidizing can be, but to this degree...... Lesson learned most def.

So pretty much I was trying to get some skilled brewers opinion of... How badly did I ruin my beer? on a percentage scale, what are the odds of my beer being completely undrinkable?

I am brewing a irish red ale, it has about another week in the 2nd carboy I believe... Cheers!