Beginner Advice on Equipment and Recipes

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wyatttho

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to HBT, but have heard great things and as an aspiring homebrewer, I figured I could ask you for advice on what to buy. I feel like the beginner equipment kits are nice to start up with, but if I shop smart, I might be able to not only save money, but maybe even get better-quality stuff too. I've been trying to follow along with what I've read from Charlie Papazian.

I've been thinking a lot about what kind of beer I'd like to try for my first brew, and kinda wanted to try Oberon (being from MI, this seems simple and good). I want to try following this recipe: http://alestolagers.blogspot.com/2010/05/recipe-of-week-bells-oberon-clone.html?m=1

Would this be a good idea? Do any of you have any advice on equipment and recipes? What if I'd like to rack from primary into multiple small secondaries, to experiment with different flavors added? Thanks a lot!!!

Nice, well that's kinda what I'm wondering... Would it be too ambitious of me to try this, especially if it's an AG? And what equipment would I need for this kind of thing?

It does't have to be a costly buy-in to get started. I do stovetop BIAB with a 10 gal aluminum kettle ($19.99 tamale pot on sale at smart n final) a $4 voile curtain from Ikea, and a few 7.5 gal buckets I get for free from a local soap making store. Thermometer and hydrometer are pretty necessary ($5-$10 each). Airlocks are optional (I use 'em because I like to see the bubbles and they are only a buck or two).