Questions regarding first batch of mulberry wine

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

quinn_88

Reaction score
Hi there!

Re-posting this in a different section, I think I'm in the right place now.

I live in a place with lots of mulberry trees, and within the next couple months we're going to have loads of berries. I would like to make a mulberry wine- not a typical grape wine with mulberries added, but one with mulberry juice as a base and not much else, maybe raspberries or blueberries, if anything. I've heard that finished products involving mulberries tend to lack body, so it's a good idea to add something else as well.

I've made 10 or so batches of cider and a few of mead, but I've got no experience with anything of this sort. How would I go about this?

I guess my main questions are:

Which would make a better addition, blueberries or raspberries?

How would I do this in a way that wouldn't involve waiting ridiculous amounts of time? (I'm used to about a month- when I do cider it's in primary for 2-3 weeks and secondary for one or two.)

Thanks!
Quinn

I am not sure for blueberries and raspberries for which would be best to add body. Personally to add body to a thin wine or mead I would add the following

1/2 lb minced raisins per gallon
1tbs black tea per gallon (I like earl grey for this, this is kind of "dry hopped" strait into the primary)

Mulberries here in Oklahoma are quite tart so if yours are the same then I might drop the dry tea down to 2 tsp per gallon.