longest time period till fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MagusStorm

Reaction score
Howdy all
I'm fairly new to brewing, but have had my airlock blow out already and have a few brews under me one of which is drinkable now. But I just brewed a batch where I picked out the ingredients instead of using a kit and also got the wyeast smack pack everyone raved about. My question is, how long can it take before I know that fermentation isn't going to start? I've been using the dry yeast packs and just sprinkling it on top of my wort and it ferments like crazy but I brewed this batch on Saturday and today is Thursday and there is still nothing going on. I don't want to dump my stand by dry pack in if it is actually going to start soon. Thanks for tips

Lag times up to 72 hours are not uncommon. However, how do you know nothing is going on? Have you taken a gravity reading? That is the ONLY way to determine if fermentation is occurring. Airlock bubbling doesn't mean anything.

At what temperature are you fermenting?
How old was the yeast you used?
What was your recipe?

On another point, I'm curious about your statement that you have a few brews under your belt, but only one of which is drinkable. I hope that is because you have very high standards. Otherwise, they should all be drinkable. I'd hate for you to lose interest in your new hobby.