I need HELP!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Craftbeerdrinker4

Reaction score
I am very new to home brewing. I just brewed my first batch and bottled it just under a week ago. My first concern is, the first bottle that I filled was a clear glass bottle just to see the color and watch as it self carbonated. At first it looked like there was just a few white bubbles sitting on top of the brew I thought maybe it was star-San but I don't think that's the case anymore. This doesn't look like it is in any of the other bottles, but could somebody please tell me if maybe this is a big problem? I don't want to get anyone sick. Please see picture below
This was the first bottle that I bottled the others are in Amber bombers and 12 ounce bottles and I don't see any of this Residue.

What did I do wrong?

image-1942318065.jpg

image-1223471126.jpg

Did you check the beer for final gravity with a hydrometer? Did the FG remain the same for 3+ days?

It looks like it was still fermenting in the bottle and that is hops / kraeusen floating on top.

This can overcarbonate the beer, even causing bottle bombs.

Unfortunately no I didn't check it. I assumed after 3 weeks (stupid me) 1 week in the primary then transferred into secondary for the final 2.

Is there anyway to prevent the bottles from exploding or is it now a waiting game? I am storing the bottles in a dark cool closet. Should I open one up now and test it?

The day I bottled the fermenter had no white foam or anything still on top. I was doing some dry hopping and that had sunk about 90%. I was very careful siphoning it into my bottling bucket.

Thank you so much for getting back to me!

image-3504539106.jpg