Hoppy vs India (blank) Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chuckbergman

Reaction score
So I get India Black Ale, I kinda get India Red Ale, but now I see India Brown Ale advertised. I'm no BJCP expert by any stretch, but aren't these really just hoppy versions of different styles of beer? What makes them an India ale?

Nothing really makes them India ales, aside from the fact that they share the heavy late addition hopping rates that most people associate with IPAs. You can't really call a super hoppy, jet black ale an India pale ale though.

So I get India Black Ale, I kinda get India Red Ale, but now I see India Brown Ale advertised. I'm no BJCP expert by any stretch, but aren't these really just hoppy versions of different styles of beer? What makes them an India ale?

Dang just now? Dogfish released their IBA in 1999.

You can't really call a super hoppy, jet black ale an India pale ale though.

Oh I think you CAN call them that or Black IPA, and I do. This debate is so tired, because people in the Pacific Northwest just have to be children about it and have to have the last word on the issue. Who cares! It's delicious beer, let it be what it wants to be! You call it Cross Dressing Amateur, I call it Black IPA, get over it!
Oxymorons exist everywhere in society.

Personally I think we should stop calling then India Pale Ales anyway...most of the time they're not pale, and second of all, they have nothing to do with India any longer.
American Pale Ale suits me just fine to replace India Pale Ale.