falling short on final gravity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grimstad13

Reaction score
I'm a newbie brewing extract and grains Imperial stout(trying to achieve something close to Old Rasputin's, from North coast Brewery). My OG was 1.095 and I pitched two vials of wlp001 @ 80deg. at 8pm on 3/30/13 I went to bed and nothing was happening, when I checked at 7:30am the next morn. she was shooting foam through the blow off tube every second. I cleaned the airlock and changed my blowoff container at 8pm 3/31/13 This activity lasted for a couple days then slowed down gradually over the the next few days after that. I let it set in the primary until now, 4/19/13 and I checked the gravity which is only 1.031 I expected closer to 1.023 or 1.024
Is this close enough, I will check the gravity in a couple of days, but I think it is done. From what I have read, I feel I should get my wort of the yeast cake. Is there anything I can do at this point to lower the FG? I Plan on Bottle conditioning for at least 3-4 months, does this sound right? Any input is appreciated.

I've got a RIP sitting in secondary now that finished at 1.030. I want them to finish around there to provide the richness and body I expect in those beers. I have brewed two RIPs and completed one. RIP is one of my holiday beers. I brew them in January with the expectation that they will be at their prime by thanksgiving. I bulk age for four or five months in secondary and bottle condition for the rest. I've not tried bottle conditioning only for four months. That might work. I don't know the yeast you used but I think you got about 72% attenuation. That is probably within the rated capabilities of the yeast and pretty good for a big beer. Cheers.