how do you hold a beer? (bottle)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cageybee

Reaction score
ok, sorry for another seemingly useless question (as a noob, I'm still examining the phenomena). So, I was at the LHBS talking to Woody (what else would his name be) and he tells me I should try a Belgian Stout (just bottled a batch last night). I said ok. he got one outta his fridge and started to describe it. I noticed something about the way he held the bottle that spoke of.........smooth experience (can't really describe any better). it was sort of like an inverted pen grip towards the top of the bottle. I grabbed it from him like I hold a can of soda (like I usually do when I drink them) by the fat part. So how do you hold it (the bottle) when you're drinking from one? (and why, if you have a reason)

BigJack said:
If the beer is the right temp, I hold it by the neck so I don't transfer body heat into the beer. If it is too cold, then I hold it like a soda can.

+1. I do the same thing. And to Revvy's point, I actually do the same thing when I drink out of a glass. Usually thumb and two fingers on the top of the glass just below the rim. My thumb almost touches my lower lip. My ring and little finger hang out just off of the glass (not quite like a little girl drinking from a teacup:)).

Keeps the beer from warming and, as a lesser issue, keeps my hand from getting cold.

I don't. I always pour my beer into a glass/cup, even if it's a bmc type beer. You're loosing so much in flavor and aroma drinking it out of a bottle.

Revvy nails it again. A big part of beer drinking experience is getting the aroma, and you simply can't get any aroma from a bottle. Anytime I am drinking a beer for flavor, I pour it into a glass.