Computer controlled single tier

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

androidmaniac

Reaction score
So I recently left my job and decided to take some time to build a brewing rig, because unemployed people need beer. Before I left I had been getting into arduino and raspberry pi development so when I saw some of the fantastic creations people here and other places on the net had been building I had to get to it. I want to thank all the people who have gone to the trouble to post their experiences, I learned a lot about what to do and what not to do. I'm still learning of course, but I've made it this far with my eyebrows intact. Hopefully something in here helps someone.

I chose a single tier design like the brutus. I modeled it after the brutus, the blackheart, berrywise's build and a bunch of other great designs here. I wanted the frame to be made of stainless steel so I could store it outside and not worry about rust. I don't have any pictures of me welding the frame.

Obviously the pumps and valves and whatnot aren't going to be as resilient as the frame, so I made it so that the plumbing can be detached. Here's half the pump/valve system.

IMG_0400A.jpg

Here's the plumbing sitting on the frame. There's studs welded to the frame and they just sit up there with one nut per pump making sure they don't topple. The two halves of the plumbing are connected with a cam lock. This is before I did any wiring, and before I finished the kegs, so the cooling coil is still just hanging out. I made my hoses and went thru a not-entirely-dry run, making sure everything flowed the way I expected, from one keg to the next, etc. I made some changes to the plumbing and threw a couple more valves in for a separate circuit.

IMG_0405A.jpg