HELP! Sanke Coupler Leaking - Newbie

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Delirious187

Reaction score
Hi, so i am new to kegging with Sanke Couplers. Tonight I transfered my Chimay Red clone to the 1/6 keg and pitched priming sugar and yeast to re-ferment in the keg. The Sanke keg is used but was still holding pressure when i got it. I have since dissassembled, cleaned and bought a brand new coupler. So heres my problem, after transfering my beer I re-inserted the spear and hooked up the coupler. I hit it with about 10 PSI of C02. I wanted to remove the coupler and let it sit for 2-3 weeks to re-ferment/carbonate naturally. When I twisted the coupler to remove it, the beer started pouring/dumping out of the top. Needless to say it made a huge mess inside my fermentation chamber. I quickly twisted the coupler back on and left the handle in the up position. My question is, what happened? did I do somthing wrong? shouldn't the pressure have sealed the spear valve, making it safe to remove the coupler? Is this a common newbie error? I don't know what to do, I hope the beer isnt ruined? Should I abandon the Sanke keg and transfer to my 5 gal corney keg? I was really excited to start using Sanke kegs "D" style. I tried searching on this site but couldnt really come across anyone with a similar experience. Any help would greatly be appreciated!

Did you have the handle in the up position when you removed the coupler?

One thing you could try is venting the pressure from the keg, so you can remove the coupler and look at the valve on the keg to see if there is something preventing it from sealing.