Berliner weisse with rye malt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hopdoc

Reaction score
Berliner roggenweisse????
So, I ran out of pale malt and it has been a couple weeks since I brewed anything, so I brewed something different...
I (sour)mashed 60% wheat and 40% rye malt, was a very sticky mash despite the 7 handfulls or so off rice hulls I added. Other than that the day went smoothly. I have never used this much rye (40%) in a beer before, and it really smelled and tasted of rye. I am looking forward to tasting the finnished product.
Has anyone else tried a sour with rye? Seemed like an interesting idea.

Sounds like a potentially great idea! After having tried Sour in the Rye and Rugbrod from The Bruery (I loved both of those beers), I've been thinking about trying rye with a lot of different styles as an experimentation. Berliner Weisse sounds like it may be a good one.

Were you just trying to see if you could not use any barley malt at all? 40% rye sounds like it might be excessive. Hope to see updates soon.

Sounds like a potentially great idea! After having tried Sour in the Rye and Rugbrod from The Bruery (I loved both of those beers), I've been thinking about trying rye with a lot of different styles as an experimentation. Berliner Weisse sounds like it may be a good one.

Were you just trying to see if you could not use any barley malt at all? 40% rye sounds like it might be excessive. Hope to see updates soon.

http://www.thebruery.com/beers/specialcollection.html

"We brewed this ale with around 40% rye as a base malt and let our sour yeast and bacteria eat away at it in oak barrels for over a year creating a sour ale with a complex character of rye spice, oak and a subtle funk.

ABV: 8.7%,Release: Annual, Limited"