Decisions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Schemy

Reaction score
I have a major decision to make here. I have been offered the chance to brew as an assistant at a brew pub. I have been wishing for this opportunity for the last 3 years and now it is here. Catch is I would be taking a 63% pay cut. I think it is doable as long as the wife finds good employment and we can find reasonable daycare. I guess it really comes down to the price for following your passion and if that price is worth it. I know what my heart is telling me, but my practical nature is telling me different.

Is there no opportunity for promotion to something bigger within the company or opportunities elsewhere after you have some some pro brew experience under your belt?

If you think you have a year or two at a lower pay grade with opportunity to advance after that, I think it is worth it. If you could conceivably languish as an assistant brewer indefinitely, then I would say its not fair to you or your wife.

Also, could you do the assistant work part time and keep your current job?

I could guess the responses you will get on here, and assume that is the answer you're looking for. Is your wife supportive of the change? These are not opportunities that will come up often.

Oh there is opportunity to advance and move up. My personal goal would be to be in line for a head position in 2 years.

She is supportive and understands that this is an opportunity that doesn't come along very often, its all financial. I make decent money now, and we struggle from time to time, we almost have all our big debt paid off, but with two young kids and daycare a necessity its hard to justify the pay cut.