Killer Bee Honey?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ashar83

Reaction score
I've been making mead for a couple of years now and have worked with a variety of honey, but never killer bee honey. Has anyone tried this? If so, how did it turn out?

Just wanted to know because the honey is insanely expensive.

https://www.onnit.com/killer-bee-honey/

Thanks!

So, I'm really impatient (terrible quality in one who makes mead, I know) and I ordered some of the honey. Really looking forward to trying this. Will make into a show mead.

I think it's more of a marketing ploy. It is going to likely be on the same lines as a wildflower honey; just from Africanized hives. Beefolks sells it at the same price as their regular honeys so there's nothing special about it beyond a cool story note.

That only took you 35 minutes to go ahead and order it, maybe you should make a JAOM with this :) They have an extra big smoker for working these bees and I think they wear extra layers under their bee suit. I got stung in the ear today just standing around watching the bees working! I think it was an accident and I just got in the way. What are you going to name this batch? WVMJ

I've been making mead for a couple of years now and have worked with a variety of honey, but never killer bee honey. Has anyone tried this? If so, how did it turn out?

Just wanted to know because the honey is insanely expensive.

https://www.onnit.com/killer-bee-honey/

Thanks!

I haven't decided what to call it the, and I'll decide what I'll make with it once I've had a chance to taste the honey.

I'm a big fan of the sweeter show Meads, so that's where I'm leaning. Hopefully it'll made some killer Mead, though.