How long can a yeast cake stay alive...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewOnBoard

Reaction score
I was planning on bottling my current batch today and brewing batch two and dumping it on the yeast cake. I've never done this before and wanted to try the technique, but my current batch is still bubbling 6/minute and doesn't look done.

(no I didn't check the OG I brew in a hydrometer free zone :) )

If I bottle my brew some time this week and have a naked yeast cake in the fermenter, how long will it live? I'm not interested in washing the yeast (great how to article though). Should I add some water so it doesn't dry out?

How long before they all die?

BrewOnBoard

that's a great question: i was planning on doing this on thursday & just assumed i was going to have to use it immediately..... i'll call the guys at the LHBS and will let you know what they say since they do it all the time over there....

I wash my yeast, but I've let the cake sit a couple of days before with no problems. No idea how long it would be viable, but I would guess you'd be fine within a week. I leave an inch or so of beer on top of the cake and just seal it back up.

I wash my yeast, but I've let the cake sit a couple of days before with no problems. No idea how long it would be viable, but I would guess you'd be fine within a week. I leave an inch or so of beer on top of the cake and just seal it back up.

NO! We can't leave a man behind! Oh, wait, I think that was something different I was thinking about....

Yes, leaving a little bit of beer sounds like a good idea!

BrewOnBoard