I am EXCIDERD for cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beerbeerbeerbeerbeerbeer-

Reaction score
Yes I invented a word. I'm also brand new to cider but it seems simple enough. My first batch of cider i just dumped plain old store bought apple juice from concentrate, no additives besides the vitamin c. Also several cans of concentrate, same. Sanitized the outside of them with alcohol swab. I put this on top of a pale mild beer yeast cake, promptly after bottling. London ale wyeast. Not sure why i did this but i also added sake yeast # 9, i had for a sake batch ive yet to do. Kept the carboy at about 68. After the fermentation began i learned that the crispin cider company uses sake yeast, and that is my favorite store cider(but also plus one to harpoon cider). What do ya know? a week later the hydrometer went from 1.060 to 1.000. The sample tasted like crispin alot, and much better than half of the store bought cider around here in DFW. I bottled 2 days later, priming with only half a helping of clear Belgian candi sugar in maybe a splash more than two cups of (reverse osmosis??? Is this okay???) water. Can't wait to try it in a few weeks. Although the leftover bottling bucket cider definatly didn't taste as good as the hydro sample two days earlier. I prefer dry cider with little sugar btw. Thanks for reading. Anyone ever grow sake yeast? Im new to starters but for sure plan on doing this again, from scratch instead of yeast cake usage. Would be nice to save on yeast. And, is this even technically hard cider?

I've never made a starter with sake yeast, but i'm sure it works just like any other strain. Sounds like you made a great cider!