Sore Throat from drinking Kombucha?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crys

Reaction score
I just started brewing. Just finished my 2nd batch ever. First batch I brewed for ten days and it was a bit sweet, but tasty, although no carbonation even after a second ferment with some ginger for flavor. Second batch I waited 2 weeks and it is much better with fizz too.

But... i seem to be getting sore throats from drinking it. I had never tried kombucha before so not sure how i react to it. I have read a lot about the yeast die-off effect in the body so I assume this could be it?? I just know that i love the taste but it gives me a sore throat about 3-5 hours after having 2-4 oz of the drink. It also seemed to make me very tired. My husband also reports a mildly sore throat but he also swears it has fixed his sinusitis.

I just want to be sure Im not poisoning us! I keep thinking maybe we are getting sore throats from bad pathogens in there or something... but there was no sign of mold... just the brown slime that I hear is normal. I even have a swollen gland in the right side of my throat, so that is strange, right?

I wonder if this is not a cleansing reaction? I have heard of kombucha causing that in some people...

I just started brewing. Just finished my 2nd batch ever. First batch I brewed for ten days and it was a bit sweet, but tasty, although no carbonation even after a second ferment with some ginger for flavor. Second batch I waited 2 weeks and it is much better with fizz too.

I am sorry to hear that you are getting a sore throat. I hope its not related to drinking kombucha.

Would you be so kind as to describe your method for flavoring with ginger? I have a piece of root I'd like to use.